Autodesk sells educational versions of software on the premise that the software will be used for educational purposes only. The addition of this watermark is as-designed to discourage the commercial use of an educational version.
Removal of the educational plot stamp from AutoCAD-based drawings is not supported.
Authorized use of educational and student versions of AutoCAD software does not permit using that software for professional, commercial, or for-profit purposes. The plot stamp is a measure that helps ensure educational and student version licenses are used only as authorized.
At some point during your drawings lifecycle, an educational or student version of AutoCAD was used to either create and/or edit your file(s), thus introducing the educational plot stamp. When opening drawings in an educational version, the software provides up to two warnings that the plot stamp will be applied.
We recommend reviewing the applicable Autodesk software license agreement accompanying each product that has been licensed and identify cases in which educational or student versions of Autodesk products may be being used in a manner inconsistent with the terms of the governing license agreements. This will help you avoid the inclusion of educational plot stamps in files being used for professional, commercial or for-profit purposes.
AutoCAD 2014 SP1 - With AutoCAD 2014 Service Pack 1 installed, DWG files will no longer show the educational plot stamp while plotting, nor will they give a warning message when opening them. However, the stamp is still attached to the file even though it is not showing. The danger is that someone with 2014 SP1 could open a file and work on it without realizing it has the educational stamp on it. If they then send that to someone without SP1, or on an earlier version, that user will see the warning and the stamp. At this time, using 2014 with SP1 will still propagate the stamp to other drawings, as in the past.
AutoCAD 2015 - This version has the ability to remove the stamp altogether if a Save is performed. Once a file is saved in 2015, it can be sent to users on earlier versions, and the stamp will no longer be a part of the file.